10 thoughts on “In Oxford

  1. The tree …. the TREE! Thanks so much for putting the pics side by side! It’s astounding to see the progress that tree has made. =) I love, love the one of you in front of the tree. I recommend it as a FB cover photo. The one you took of Tyler is just great … could see him using that in the future. (back of a book cover???) I like the cheetoh duet. Looks like he’s sleeping – precious. Then with Dad, both all smiles. Happy! Hey I know pictures are supposed to say a lot, but no picture can say it like you … maybe you could add some commentary when you get a chance. πŸ˜‰

    The first photo, is that Oxford in the distance? How very much fun! It’s like a shining city that calls to you. I hear it! And Jessie, THE ORC, o my! That is so great, thanks for sharing!

    • Yeah, it’s called “Tolkien’s tree,” ’cause it was his particular favorite. He would go sit under it a lot. And he’s famously photographed under it. It’s a gorgeous black pine. The picture of Ambrose with the cheetos chip is him sleeping and eating at the same time πŸ™‚ The first photo is just of Christ Church and one college (Merton, where Tolkien taught English). I don’t know if I’ll get around to writing about it…. if not, we can go over the pictures together some time!

  2. I agree with Lisa about the pic of your hubby – great book pic! I very much enjoy the perspectives you get in your pics. And I feel a bit of satisfaction seeing Great Britain thru your lens. Perhaps some day I will make it to Ireland, something I’ve dreamed of for years.

  3. Jessie, you are a FIRST RATE photographer AND writer!!! i also like to read the comments…..and i agree with all of them. I love Ambrose’s little jeans especially the pic in the street near the grate. They’re baggy. πŸ™‚

  4. Gran I thought the same thing, his saggy little butt! I just want to give it the biggest pinch!!!

    And girlie, that picture of you sitting in the grass by the tree. Breath taking is all I can think of to do it justice. So so beautiful, and makes me MISS you like you wouldn’t believe. ❀

  5. Jessie we enjoyed all the photos of the trip sooo much. Such memories you two are building and at the same time building upon –eg LOR Tolkien . Such great fun . The tree picture was sort of evidence that he existed and also that you are such a fan–cant believe it . Of course you would have been in great trouble without the pictures of Ambrose and Tyler and You . . Keep this canvas growing. Love you all.

  6. I MISS EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE and these PEOPLE. It’s all so familiar it makes me heartsick and yet so happy. Northmoor Road was only two blocks from the house where I stayed! Agh, those familiar curved ivy-covered brick walls. I see them in my sleep.

    Also, that picture of TYLER, the one in, from what it looks like, the Divinity School? THAT IS SUCH A GOOD PICTURE. It’s like so Tyler, so him, so essence.

    My poor little soul is just bursting past the boundaries of my body right now. I want to put on a kettle and talk with you for hours.

  7. Oh ALSO – that gorgeous tree at St. Mary’s Passage — I took like a MILLION pictures of that tree when it finally blossomed. It’s so gorgeous holding the promise of spring after a long winter of stone and cold.

  8. I’M ALMOST DONE FREAKING OUT: I can’t remember if we have talked about the poem “God’s Grandeur” by Gerard Manley Hopkins, but it IS England to me. “And for all this, nature is never spent.” ALSO “Inversnaid” by him.

  9. Hannah’s freak outs make me so happy πŸ™‚ I can feel you’re longing for that place so much, like a little piece of your soul is still there and it’s pull to the rest of your body is magnetic. I just had to comment on these again, because they are all so breathtakingly beautiful, and mainly, because that one of you holding the croissant panged my heart. It’s your hands, so sweet and familiar. I miss them. Funny what get’s to us, you never really know.

Leave a comment